Strapi background blur
Strapi Logo
Strapi
4.6
(171)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Findstack offers objective and comprehensive comparisons to help you find the best software. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Strapi Reviews & Product Details

Strapi Overview
What is Strapi?

Strapi is a free, open-source, and headless/back-end-only CMS that runs on 100% Javascript. Made for developers, it’s fully customizable and provides a robust environment for creating self-hosted and high-performing content APIs. Content creators can easily define models to build rich layouts depending on the data structure they need for their business. Once a content architecture has been set, it’s seamless to write, edit, and manage any content type. Comprehensive frameworks and services from third-party vendors are available to reinforce the content environment and once ready, content can be easily deployed on all cloud platforms or traditional servers.

Company Strapi Solutions
Year founded 2016
Company size 51-200 employees
Headquarters Paris, France
Social Media
Strapi Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about Strapi
What Strapi is best for?
How does Strapi compare to Agility CMS?
What are the pros and cons of Strapi?
Strapi Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
OSS
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Linux, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, On-Premise Linux, On-Premise Windows
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Strapi Features
API-first Architecture
Analytics/Reporting
Backup & Restore
Collaboration Tools
Content Modeling
Content Previews
Content Scheduling
Content Search
Content Tagging & Categorization
Content Versioning
Content Workflows
Custom Content Types
Customizable Content Delivery
Developer-friendly SDKs
GraphQL Support
Headless Ecommerce Integration
Localization
Media Library
Multi-language Support
Multi-site Management
Performance Optimization
Personalization
RESTful API
Rich Text Editor
SEO Management
Scalability
Security & Authentication
Third-party Integrations
User Role Management
Webhooks
Strapi Media
Strapi 0
Strapi 1
Strapi 2
Strapi 3
Strapi 4
Strapi Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: July 17, 2024
Strapi Logo
171 Strapi Reviews
4.6 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 05, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Great alternative to Django"
What do you like best about Strapi?

The GUI based schema builder. Inbuilt orm. Feature rich product.

What do you dislike about Strapi?

I think the free plan should have more features like access roles, better filtering ability in API, etc

What problems is Strapi solving and how is that benefiting you?

I used to develop apis with Django. Coding everything from scratch is overwhelming. With easy schema builder that is no longer a problem. Plus the rule based access is super cool.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jan 05, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Fantastic Flexible CMS"
What do you like best about Strapi?

Strapi makes it easy to set up an API for your website quickly. There's no tedious work writing API routes and controllers for basic CRUD operations. Their content types builder plugin allows you to get your API up and running quickly. Strapi is also very flexible and customizable, and you can easily configure what you get out of the box with custom routes, controllers, services, and database queries. Strapi also has a great customizable user interface out of the box so even less technical individuals can easily learn how to update your website.

What do you dislike about Strapi?

Currently, Strapi is pretty difficult to deploy and host. They have relatively comprehensive deployment guides on their website, but they are not full-proof. You will need someone that has experience with server configuration / Dev Ops to get you up and running. It will be really nice when they have a cloud hosted option.

What problems is Strapi solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm implementing a website that hosts information and race results for my local running club. A lot of the functionality I need for the majority of the content is just basic CRUD operations, and Strapi makes it really easy to step up. Our race results are much more complicated, however, and I have the flexibility to create custom SQL queries where I need to.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Nov 15, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Strapi is a great headless CMS"
What do you like best about Strapi?

-user-friendly interface -role-based access control in admin console to delegate responsibility in content management -auto-generated endpoints consumed by any application and services

What do you dislike about Strapi?

-no SSO in our addition -on-disk recorded startup values creating problem in docker environment -no folders in the media library store

What problems is Strapi solving and how is that benefiting you?

We are managing add-on targeted announcements for the university portals.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 11, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Works well and is easy to use"
What do you like best about Strapi?

Strapi is a simple yet powerful CMS that is very customisable. We were able to stop developing our own CMS and use Strapi instead, since all its options made it work even for our specialised needs. The developer experience is good too, both when working with the API and adding our own custom plugins and extensions.

What do you dislike about Strapi?

Strapi's admin interface is totally unusable on a mobile device, and the Jekyll plugin doesn't have support for all of the content types. I'd also like support for single sign-on to be more affordable.

What problems is Strapi solving and how is that benefiting you?

Strapi lets us manage our entire website, both the interactive and static parts, in one location. Since there's an easy JSON API, it also makes the idea of future development more straightforward.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 12, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Good API first CMS"
What do you like best about Strapi?

Strapi allows building a complex headless homepage with a great GraphQL API.

What do you dislike about Strapi?

Nothing to dislike at the moment, great.

What problems is Strapi solving and how is that benefiting you?

Connecting API's with our homepage.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jun 21, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Empowering our Non-Profit to create customers experiences that are accessible for any user."
What do you like best about Strapi?

Just watching an idea become a meaningful experience for our team and customers do not happen simultaneously. Especially, when we had to use two different teams dedicated for ios or android design features or functions. It's the user-friendly interface that's empowering our team to integrate their favorite tools without requiring intense technical knowledge aquisition.

What do you dislike about Strapi?

New to Strapi, therefore I don't have any dislikes at the time.

What problems is Strapi solving and how is that benefiting you?

Strapi allows our Non-profit to simplify a fragmented procurement ecosystem for historically underutilized businesses and underfunded social entrepreneur projects that improve their local communities.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
May 28, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Extremly productive CMS"
What do you like best about Strapi?

The upsides are the customization and flexibility that it gives both the editor and developer

What do you dislike about Strapi?

The documentation can be lacking in some areas, but the community is helpful

What problems is Strapi solving and how is that benefiting you?

Building an application for a student chapter that needs to provide tickets to their members for certain events

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Apr 18, 2021
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Amazing Application"
What do you like best about Strapi?

My organization has been looking for a long time to get out of using WordPress and I've looked into different options, Laravel, a full React-based static site with all the back end handled by a SaaS, but my team loved using the "simple" interface of WordPress and after I found this product and my team loved it, I know this was the keeper.

What do you dislike about Strapi?

I'm not too sure if this product has been around for a while or is new, but it could use a lot more plugins that are easy to install just like WordPress and it's easy to use WYSIWYG editors, but other than that this product is pretty cool.

What problems is Strapi solving and how is that benefiting you?

Using a Javascript-based application has just been fun, learning and using getting of a PHP based application I can already see all the speed and usage improvements

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 10, 2020
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Best Headless CMS Out There"
What do you like best about Strapi?

The simplicity of having a ready API solution out of the box.

What do you dislike about Strapi?

Need more customization options which are for power users.

What problems is Strapi solving and how is that benefiting you?

Cuts down the development time of building and structuring APIs.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 03, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"No major issues so far!"
What do you like best about Strapi?

I like that we will be able to easily structure and build our course content and have the option to customize to our needs.

What do you dislike about Strapi?

I don't like that you can't search between collection types.

What problems is Strapi solving and how is that benefiting you?

It is giving us a customizable CMS that can be integrated with the other software solutions we use.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 12, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Fantastic CMS"
What do you like best about Strapi?

It's highly customizable, intuitive, and easy to use. There's also plenty of resources out there to help you do what you need to do.

What do you dislike about Strapi?

Learning how things work can take some time.

What problems is Strapi solving and how is that benefiting you?

It helps the writing team upload and modify website content.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Feb 27, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Best headless CMS for advance users"
What do you like best about Strapi?

It has lots of preconfigured customization which can be further customized to make it more useful according to your needs.

What do you dislike about Strapi?

It becomes sometimes complex for beginners. It has too much available that become sometimes overwhelming in some scenarios.

What problems is Strapi solving and how is that benefiting you?

Helpful in managing the backend of the jam stack website. It has lots of things premade that can be useful for development. We have a need for CMS that can be self-hosted and Starpi is a good choice for that.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Oct 03, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"Fast, easy to use, looking forward to use it for the next few years."
What do you like best about Strapi?

This is by far the easiest solution for a headless CMS solution and even better as an API framework to power whatever your needs are.

What do you dislike about Strapi?

Content editor fields are limited in some cases e.g. date input, document selector

What problems is Strapi solving and how is that benefiting you?

Our students need a well-designed and constantly updated platform to support them along the way of their studies.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 12, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"It made some aspects much easier for us."
What do you like best about Strapi?

It helps reduce the time spent for some jobs.

What do you dislike about Strapi?

Getting started with Strapi may be somewhat tiring. I hope it would be easier in the future.

What problems is Strapi solving and how is that benefiting you?

Content management is easier with Strapi, it prevents developers from drowning in repetitive tasks.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 02, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Founder
Share
"One of the best headless cms"
What do you like best about Strapi?

- Customization - Performance - Plug and play concept

What do you dislike about Strapi?

Everything works pretty good. However, some upgrades are necessary to manage better the data and add more functionalities to the UI.

What problems is Strapi solving and how is that benefiting you?

I hosted the entire backend of one of my personal projects. It's easy to setup and you can immediately view and manage the data.